Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited (SGX: O39) (bbreviated as OCBC Bank, is a publicly listed financial services organisation with its head office in Singapore. OCBC Bank was born out of the Great Depression through the consolidation of three banks in 1932 – the Chinese Commercial Bank Limited (incorporated in 1912), the Ho Hong Bank Limited (incorporated in 1917) and the Oversea-Chinese Bank Limited (incorporated in 1919). Although publicly listed, OCBC Bank’s largest shareholder is the Lee Group of Companies. Lee Kong Chian and his son Lee Seng Wee also served as OCBC chairman in the 1930s and 1990s respectively. OCBC Bank has assets of more than 224 billion SGD. Based on Bloomberg, in 2011 OCBC is the number one of the world’s strongest $100 billion assets banks.[2] It is Singapore’s oldest local bank.[3] The “Oversea-Chinese” usage leads many to believe mistakenly that the bank’s name is misspelled, but this is the correct traditional spelling. The bank’s global network has grown to comprise subsidiaries, branches, and representative offices in 18 countries and territories. It has retail banking subsidiaries in Malaysia, Indonesia, Hong Kong, and China, and branches in China, Hong Kong, Japan, Australia, the UK and US. OCBC’s Indonesia subsidiary, Bank OCBC NISP, has 630 branches and offices.[4]


Bank Name OCBC Bank
Stock Exchange SGX
Symbol O39
Sector Financial Services
Industry Banking, financial services
World Region Australia
CEO Samuel N. Tsien
Website www.ocbc.com
Registered Year 1932